Design Thinking Factory – innovativ, gebrauchstauglich, angewandt

Prototyping

Prototyping – What is it?

Through prototyping, a product or service is given a first visual or haptic form, which allows an idea to be experienced in the early stages of development. The result is a common understanding of the idea and thus a basis for communication and discussion of further action. After a prototype is completed, feedback and concept adjustments can be made in order to achieve the final product. The use of prototyping is an essential part of our User Centered Design (UCD) methodology.

What are the advantages of prototyping?

Prototyping enables the collaborative integration of end users that are continuously involved throughout the entire project. This consideration of user needs paves the way towards a successful final product. Errors are detected early and can be corrected cost-effectively.

The advantages at a glance:

  • Visual communication basis
  • Focus on the essentials
  • Involvement of potential end-users
  • Feedback from all stakeholders
  • Early concept review
  • Detection of need for correction
  • Cost and effort saving adjustments possible

When should prototypes be used?

If you asked us when prototypes should be used, our answer would be: Always. Regardless of the project status, you can present prototypical solutions for ideas that are in their beginning and mature stages, or even propose potential changes to existing products. There is a suitable methodology for all applications.

As soon as you visualize a solution idea, it immediately becomes more tangible. Whether it be a digital application, a service or any other type of product.

How we would like to support you?

Depending on your needs, we will develop a suitable prototype for you or in collaboration with you. All of the following conceivable stages of a prototype are possible:

  • User Interface Flow Diagrams
  • Pen & Paper Prototypen
  • Static Wireframes
  • Interactive Click Dummies
  • Functional prototypes with graphically designed user interface

There are no limits to your and our creativity when it comes to implementation, as we do not only use common technologies, but also realize virtual and augmented reality implementations, for example, or use 3D printers and laser cutters for haptic prototypes.

We will be happy to discuss with you in detail what exactly lies behind the many possibilities of prototyping and which approach is best suited for your specific case.

Contact

Marc Jentsch

Contact Press / Media

Dr. Marc Jentsch

User-Centered Design Lead

Phone +49 2241 14-2210

Design Thinking Factory – innovativ, gebrauchstauglich, angewandt

Prototyping

Prototyping – Was ist das?

Mit Prototyping bekommt ein Produkt oder ein Service frühzeitig eine visuelle oder auch haptische Form. Eine Idee wird so bereits in einem frühen Stadium erlebbar. Es entsteht ein gemeinsames Verständnis und damit eine Kommunikations- und Diskussionsgrundlage. So können Feedback und Konzeptanpassungen frühzeitig in die Lösungsgestaltung einfließen. Die Verwendung von Prototyping ist ein essentieller Bestandteil unserer User Centered Design (UCD) Methodik.

Welche Vorteile bietet Prototyping?

Prototyping ermöglicht eine kollaborative Einbindung der Endnutzer über den gesamten Projektverlauf. Diese kontinuierliche Berücksichtigung der Nutzerbedürfnisse ebnet den Weg zu einem erfolgreichen Produkt. Fehler werden frühzeitig erkannt und können kostengünstig korrigiert werden.

Die Vorteile auf einen Blick:

  • Visuelle Kommunikationsgrundlage
  • Fokus auf das Wesentliche
  • Einbindung der potenziellen Endnutzer
  • Feedback aller Stakeholder
  • Frühe Konzeptüberprüfung
  • Aufspüren von Korrekturbedarf
  • Kosten- und aufwandsgünstige Anpassungen möglich

Wann sollten Prototypen eingesetzt werden?

Wenn Sie uns fragen, wann Prototypen eingesetzt werden sollten, lautet unsere Antwort: Immer. Ungeachtet vom Projektstatus können Sie sowohl Lösungskonzepte, die noch in den Kinderschuhen stecken, ausgereifte Ideen oder auch potenzielle Änderungen von bereits bestehenden Produkten prototypisch darstellen. Für alle Anwendungsfälle gibt es die passende Methodik.

Sobald Sie eine Lösungsidee visualisieren, wird diese greifbarer. Sei es eine digitale Anwendung, ein Service oder jegliche andere Art von Produkt.

Wie wir Sie unterstützen möchten:

Je nach Bedarf erarbeiten wir für Sie oder zusammen mit Ihnen den für Ihren individuellen Anwendungsfall passenden Prototyp. Dabei sind alle denkbaren Abstufungen eines Prototyps möglich:

  • User Interface Flow Diagrams
  • Pen & Paper Prototypen
  • Statische Wireframes
  • Interaktive Klickdummies
  • Funktionale Prototypen mit grafisch ausgestalteter Benutzeroberfläche

Bei der Umsetzung sind Ihrer und unserer Kreativität keine Grenzen gesetzt, da wir nicht nur gängige Technologien einsetzen, sondern zum Beispiel auch Virtual und Augmented Reality Umsetzungen realisieren oder für haptische Prototypen 3D-Drucker und Laser-Cutter verwenden.

Was genau sich hinter den vielen Möglichkeiten versteckt und welcher Ansatz sich in Ihrem spezifischen Fall eignet, besprechen wir gerne mit Ihnen im Detail.

Kontakt

Marc Jentsch

Contact Press / Media

Dr. Marc Jentsch

User-Centered Design Lead

Telefon +49 2241 14-2210